Professor Bryna Kra elected as president of the American Mathematical Society

Professor Bryna Kra elected as president of the American Mathematical Society

Bryna Kra has been elected as president of the American Mathematical Society (AMS). Kra is the Sarah Rebecca Roland Professor of Mathematics at Northwestern University. After a year of serving as President-Elect, Kra’s two-year term will begin February 1, 2023.

Kra works in ergodic theory and dynamical systems, particularly on problems motivated by combinatorics and number theory.

A professional society since 1888, AMS advances research and connects the diverse global mathematical community through publications, meetings and conferences, MathSciNet, professional services, advocacy, and awareness programs.

Kra’s notable recognitions include:
Member, National Academy of Sciences (2019)
Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences (2016)
Fellow of the American Mathematical Society (2012)
Levi L. Conant Prize of the American Mathematical Society (2010)
American Mathematical Society Centennial Fellowship (2006)
Invited Speaker, International Congress of Mathematicians, Madrid (2006)

Some 30,000 individuals and 570 institutions worldwide make up the Society. AMS membership supports the mathematical sciences by providing access to research, professional networking, conferences and events, advocacy, and a connection to a community passionate about mathematics and its relationship to other disciplines and everyday life.

Source: Northwestern University | Judd A. and Marjorie Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences

[CMM NOTE: Professor Kra is also currently a member of the International Scientific Committee of the Center for Mathematical Modeling (CMM) and has been a co-organizer of the seminar series “Expanding Dynamics-Creative Online Ventures in Dynamics” along with CMM researcher Prof. Alejandro Maass.]

Photo credit: Eileen Molony

Posted on Dec 2, 2021 in Frontpage, News